+31 (0)58 - 289 48 76

The place to be for every organist

Leipziger Choralfughetten

Subtitle:Advent - Weihnachten - Neujahr
Composer:Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Edition no.: EB8782

SKU: seb8782


Instrument:Organ, Organ (manuals only), Harpsichord
Style Period:Late Baroque
Theme:Advent & Christmas, Newyear


Edited by Pieter Dirksen.

Everyone is familiar with these little pieces but not with the compelling connection among them which Pieter Dirksen discovered. According to his findings, Bach conceived the eight fughettas as a little anthology for Advent (BWV 704, 703, 698 and 699), Christmas (BWV 701, 696 and 697) and New Year (BWV 702). The pieces have been transmitted in this order in a source that had been mostly ignored up to now, a copy made for the Leipzig publisher Breitkopf. Since this reliable manuscript is also the earliest source of the fughettas, Dirksen had every reason to base his edition of the music text on it. Organists will welcome the publication as a valuable new source of inspiration for the start of the church year. What's more: the upright format of the edition signalizes that these pieces are not specifically for the organ, but "neutral" works that can be interpreted very well on other keyboard instruments as well.

1. Lob sey dem allmächtigen Gott BWV 704
2. Gottes Sohn ist kommen BWV 703
3. Herr Christ der einige Gottes Sohn BWV 698
4. Nun komm der Heiden Heiland BWV 699
5. Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich her BWV 701
6. Christum wir sollen loben schon [Was furchst du Feind Herodes sehr BWV 696
7. Gelobet seyst du, Jesu Christ BWV 697
8. Das Jesulein soll doch mein Trost BWV 702

We'll make sure to deliver as soon as possible.

Need more information?
Call us on +31 (0)58 - 289 48 76.

Shipping costs will be shown at checkout.

Place your order in time and mind the delivery times.

Haven't been able to make a choice? Order a gift card.