+31 (0)58 - 289 48 76

The place to be for every organist

Original Compositions 2

Composer:Middelschulte, Wilhelm (1863-1943)
Edition no.: BA08492

SKU: sba08492


Difficulty Level:Unknown


Wilhelm Middelschulte (1863–1943) studied church music in Berlin . From 1891 onwards he worked as director of the organ department at the American Conservatory in Chicago and the Wisconsin Conservatory in Milwaukee.

As a virtuoso organist he had a formative impact on American organ music: even Ferruccio Busoni called him a ‘master of counterpoint’ and the greatest contrapuntal composer since J. S. Bach.

The Concerto for Organ is a masterpiece of contrapuntal inversion. The thematic material of all five movements is taken from the theme of the great Organ Fugue in E minor BWV 584/2 by Johann Sebastian Bach. The “ Canonic Fantasy” is in the form of a passacaglia, whose theme and contrapuntal inversions are taken from the BACH motif. The virtuoso “ Perpetuum mobile” for pedal solo is one of the works which Middelschulte performed most frequently.


• Konzert für Orgel über ein Thema von Joh. Seb. Bach
• Kanonische Fantasie über BACH und Fuge über 4 Themen von Joh. Seb. Bach
• Perpetuum mobile
Kritischer Bericht
Errata Band 1 (BA 8491)

We'll make sure to deliver as soon as possible.

Need more information?
Call us on +31 (0)58 - 289 48 76.

Shipping costs will be shown at checkout.

Place your order in time and mind the delivery times.

Haven't been able to make a choice? Order a gift card.