Werke für Orgel / Organ Works

Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)


SKU: shn1368 Categories: , , , Tag:

Editor: George S. Bozarth
Replaces HN400

Fugue a flat minor WoO 8
Choral Prelude and Fugue on “O Traurigkeit, o Herzeleid” WoO 7
11 Choral Preludes op. posth. 122
Prelude and Fugue a minor WoO 9
Prelude and Fugue g minor WoO 10

Appendix: Fugue a flat minor WoO 8 (first version)
Appendix: Choral Prelude WoO 7 (first version)

Johannes Brahms’s organ works in a sense “frame” his whole oeuvre. He wrote several preludes and fugues and the chorale prelude “O Traurigkeit, o Herzeleid” in the mid-1850s, at a time when he was making an intensive study of counterpoint. The Eleven Chorale Preludes op. 122, on the other hand, are Brahms’s final work, composed in 1896, immediately before and after the death of Clara Schumann. This revised Henle Urtext edition presents all of Brahms’s organ works in a single volume, following the musical text of the New Brahms Complete Edition, and with a preface and a commentary that reflect the latest scholarship. The early versions of two of these pieces are also given in an appendix.

Weight 3,0000 kg


Edition number


Style period



Shopping Cart