Orgelwerke 9 (Revised edition)

Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)


Organ Chorales from the Neumeister Collection, Yale University Manuscript “LM 4708”

Artikelnummer: sba05269 Categorieën: , , , Tag:

Edited by Christoph Wolff.

In 1985 Christoph Wolff, working at Yale University, discovered a collection of 82 chorales compiled by Johann Gottfried Neumeister (1756-1840) which contained 38 compositions by Johann Sebastian Bach. They reveal great stylistic variety whose forebears stem from the Northern German organ tradition.
Already these early works comprising fantasias, fugues, fughettas and imitative techniques employing motifs from chorale melodies bear witness to Bach’s broad compositional spectrum.

This newly published volume is an updated edition of Series IV/9 of the “New Bach Edition” (NBA), edited by Christoph Wolff and based on this source.
In addition to a newly added concordance and corrections to the musical text, it also contains a detailed Foreword by Christoph Wolff with further information on the Neumeister Collection and hymnological details. The source of the complete Neumeister Collection has recently been made available on “Bach digital”, shedding light on the manuscript for the very first time.

Links to major sources have been provided in collaboration with the Bach Leipzig Archive and its database “Bach digital”. The desired page of the source can be accessed quickly and conveniently via URLs at The links stored there are examined for their validity on a regular basis.

Any complete scholarly critical edition of the works of Johann Sebastian Bach must incorporate new research findings in the interest of scholars and performers alike.
Now all of Bärenreiter’s new performing editions of Bach’s organ works are being revised to reflect the current state of scholarship and to convey maximum fidelity to the sources by being linked to “Bach digital”.

• Links to relevant sources in “Bach digital”
• Detailed new Foreword about the Neumeister Collection by Christoph Wolff (Ger/Eng)
• Complete new engraving

Der Tag, der ist so freudenreich / Ein Kindelein so löbelich BWV 719
Wir Christenleut BWV 1090
Das alte Jahr vergangen ist BWV 1091
Herr Gott, nun schleuß den Himmel auf BWV 1092
Herzliebster Jesus, was hast du verbrochen BWV 1093
O Jesu, wie ist dein Gestalt BWV 1094
O Lamm Gottes unschuldig BWV 1095
Christe, der du bist Tag und Licht / Wir danken dir, Herr Jesu Christ BWV 1096
Ehre sei dir Christe, der du leidest Not BWV 1097
Wir glauben all an einen Gott BWV 1098
Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir BWV 1099
Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ BWV 1100
Ach, Gott und Herr BWV 714
Ach Herr, mich armen Sünder / Herzlich tut mich verlangen BWV 742
Durch Adams Fall ist ganz verderbt BWV 1101
Du Friedefürst, Herr Jesu Christ BWV 1102
Erhalt uns, Herr, bei deinem Wort BWV 1103
Wenn dich Unglück tut greifen an BWV 1104
Jesu, meine Freude BWV 1105
Gott ist mein Heil, mein Hilf und Trost BWV 1106
Jesu, meines Lebens Leben BWV 1107
Als Jesus Christus in der Nacht BWV 1108
Ach Gott, tu dich erbarmen BWV 1109
O Herre Gott, dein göttlich Wort BWV 1110
Nun laßt uns den Leib begraben BWV 1111
Christus, der ist mein Leben BWV 1112
Ich hab mein Sach Gott heimgestellt BWV 1113
Herr Jesu Christ, du höchstes Gut BWV 1114
Herzlich lieb hab ich dich, o Herr BWV 1115
Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan BWV 1116
Alle Menschen müssen sterben BWV 1117
Machs mit mir, Gott, nach deiner Güte BWV 957
Werde munter mein Gemüte BWV 1118
Wie nach einer Wasserquelle BWV 1119
Fuga – Christ, der du bist der helle Tag BWV 1120 nach J. Pachelbel

Gewicht 2,0000 kg